especially grateful.

it is amazing how people can so quickly become family.  i am very lucky in that i actually like my in-laws.  in fact, i love them.  my husband’s family is wonderful.  his parents are kind and generous people and have made me feel welcome in their lives from day one.  his brothers are awesome.  i’ve never had siblings close in age to me (my brother and sister are 13 and 14 years older than me, respectively), and my fondness for them only reinforces my desire to give this baby some brothers or sisters in the future.

travis is very close to all of his cousins.  he has twenty-something first cousins between both sides of his family.  his cousin, johnny is married to (and has 3 beautiful children with) a wonderful person named alisha.  i’ve never even met them, yet she has been amazing to me throughout my pregnancy.  i look forward to one day meeting them and their gorgeous children.

travis has another cousin named brian, who is married to marci.  they have 2 little boys.  marci has been wonderful to me, as well.  she has sent me long emails filled with advice and humor.  she tells it exactly like it is, and i adore her for that.  she, before i had ever met her, rallied the troops and put together a massive recipe book for us, filled with family dishes.

all this is to say that you don’t have to be blood-related to be family.  i am feeling especially grateful tonight for all of the love and support we have.  well, i am off to bake some tasty treats before bed.  goodnight.

2 responses to “especially grateful.

  1. Sweet, sweet post. And, I’m here to help you with anything I can, from afar. 🙂 I don’t want to tell you what to do. But I can tell you what I’ve done and what has worked for us. 🙂 I can’t wait to meet you either! So excited to find our what this sweet little babe inside you is going to be! Sleep tight!

  2. Aunt Susan and I always say…”it’s the family you make that counts,” whether there is blood involved or not. BTW, it’s “Aunt” Susan!

Leave a Reply

