mother’s day.

tomorrow (technically today) is my first mother’s day. i know travis has some surprises up his sleeve, and i’m excited to find out what they are! i would give my left arm right about now for a cold beer and some sushi, but that ain’t happenin’ anytime soon. i’ll settle for a glass of pomegranate juice and a foot rub, please.

on a different note, it hit me today that i’m only a few weeks away from my third and final trimester. i’m really starting to feel the urge to nest and get little sylvie’s nursery nook ready for her arrival. speaking of her arrival, is it strange that i’m really excited to labor and give birth? like, REALLY excited. i have never felt better about or more secure in my body. nor have i ever felt unsure of its ability to birth this child, my precious daughter. i feel STRONG and ready. i’ve felt like this from the beginning and keep thinking i’ll change my tune as august 31st approaches, but everyday i remain steadfast in my decision to attempt a natural birth. this is what my body was made to do. not only do i think i can do it, i think i can ROCK it!

i’m so excited to meet my sylvie.

Vote For Us @ topbabyblogs.com!

7 responses to “mother’s day.

  1. Happy Mother’s Day! You will ROCK it! πŸ™‚

  2. Rock on! It’s not strange to look forward to labor, at least not for me, because I’m looking forward to it too!

    I love reading your blog because you are just a few weeks ahead of me, so when I read something, I’m like ” yay! that’ll be me in a few weeks.” But when I read “3rd trimester”, I was like “whoa!” Where has the time gone!?

  3. Happy Mothers Day!!
    I feel the exact same way as you do about birth and motherhood. I think pregnancy is so fun and great and I have never felt more comfortable and confident. Isn’t is wonderful???

  4. Happy Mommy’s Day to all the mothers and mothers-to-be out there! Sara, I completely and 100% support your decision for a natural childbirth, however, labor is painful (incredibly painful!). Labor is absolutely indescribable until it is experienced first hand. I do agree that this is what our bodies are designed to do and I do kind of feel cheated after 2 c-sections (the first following a failed induction with 16 hours of Pitocin fueled labor -that was loads of fun- and the second planned), however…ouch ouch ouch!! There are no words to describe the way that contractions feel. That being said, I do believe that if you stay strong, believe in yourself and find positive ways (I’m not saying that epidurals are negative, just the opposite in fact!) to deal with the pain, YOU CAN DO IT! After all, the end result is so sweet and worth it all. Have a beautiful day, honey, and give my niece a big hug from me and her cousins Sophie and Zack!

  5. I think that is totally normal! I felt that way too and look foward to being pregnant again and delivering again! It was awesome..although I didn’t get to follow through on my own plans for a natural childbirth (thanks Pitocin!) it was still awesome with the epidural. I actually was laughing and cheering when the baby was born! It was the best moment~ although bittersweet that he was no longer completely mine…now officially his own person. It’s all about the mindset and I think you are in the right one for a great experience.

  6. Just found your blog a few weeks ago and I’m trying to catch up…love it so far.

    I felt the same way w/ my son (now 5.5 months old) and having a natural childbirth was an amazing experience that I look forward to repeating. It’s completely empowering and you’ll do awesome.

    • Thanks for stopping by! I would love to hear more about your experience with natural childbirth if you’d care to share! Were there any specific courses you attended? What worked and what didn’t?

Leave a Reply

