gallstone gourmet #3.

it’s monday again and you know what that means? it’s time for another installment of the gallstone gourmet! this post is a little light on the recipes this week due to sickness and a farro disaster. we’ll get to that in a minute. now it’s time for turkey burgers and oven fries!

TURKEY BURGERS

1 pound of 99% fat free ground turkey breast
2 Tablespoons of tomato paste
1 teaspoon of olive oil
1 teaspoon garlic powder
kosher salt and pepper to taste

cooking spray
4 slices of low-fat (2%) american cheese (1 slice per burger)
1 package of whole wheat buns or sandwich thins

1. Add first set of ingredients into a large mixing bowl. Break up the turkey and combine with your hands.
2. Form into approximately 1/4 pound patties. If they’re the right size, you should get 4 (duh).
3. Spray a skillet with cooking spray and heat over medium.
4. Once the pan is hot, add the patties and cook, flipping once, until cooked through (about 4-5 minutes per side).
5. Top each patty with a slice of cheese about 30 seconds before they come off the heat.
6. Build your burger to your liking and enjoy!

OVEN FRIES

1 large baking potato (peeled if you like, we prefer the skin on)
1 egg white
1 teaspoon smoked paprika
1 teaspoon garlic powder
kosher salt and pepper to taste

1. Preheat your oven to 400 degrees. Spray a rimmed cookie sheet lightly with cooking spray
2. Cut the potato into 1/8 inch slices. Cut each slice into 1/8 inch matchsticks. Put the matchsticks into a bowl of ice water.
3. Whisk together the egg white, spices, salt and pepper in a large mixing bowl until frothy.
4. Remove the potatoes from the ice water and dry thoroughly with a hand towel. This step is very important, as wet potatoes will not brown correctly.
5. Add the dried potatoes into the bowl with the egg white mixture and toss to coat.
6. Spread the potatoes out on the cookie sheet in a single layer.
7. Bake for 30-35 minutes, turning every 5-7, until browned and crispy. Serve immediately.

now for the farro disaster. i attempted to make a risotto for the first time with farro. i have made it the traditional way, with arborio rice, tons of times. every time it’s turned out great! i prepared the farro the same way, per a recipe and some tips from the chef at trav’s restaurant. after over an hour on the stove, 64 ounces of chicken broth, and ample amounts of elbow grease the farro was only half cooked and terribly salty. even after i tried to coax it with a rousing refrain of “let my people go” (way down in egypt’s land/ tell my farro/ let my starches go!), it still stunk. if anybody has any ideas about where i failed, please let me know! thanks!

ok, it’s about that time. i’m going to try my first non-alcoholic beer. i have very low expectations for these o’douls, but i won’t hate until i try one! wish me luck! happy monday, everyone.

Vote For Us @ topbabyblogs.com!

8 responses to “gallstone gourmet #3.

  1. Ha, ha! I’d like to hear your song. 😉

  2. I have found that the best way to cook farro is like pasta – boil it in a lot of salted water until it is the texture that you desire. Then you just drain off any remaining water, season/sauce/cool for salad/etc/etc and enjoy in good health. See you soon, sister!

    • No tips for a risotto method, though? I know it can be done! I’m still stumped about what I did wrong. I’ve never messed up a risotto and it’s totally messing with my ego!

      See you in 2 weeks, sista!

  3. When I tried farro for risotto in the past (I think I did it one time only) I soaked it in water for a few hours before I actually cooked it.

    I love risotto but haven’t made it in so long! Thanks for reminding me about it! I have a great crab and lemon risotto recipe that would be so delicious in this warm weather we are having here- record highs in Burlington today, 94 degrees!!

    • I LOVE risotto. The kind I was trying to make is great for warm weather, too! It has green onions, shrimp, pea pods and lemon. SO GOOD.

      I can’t believe it’s 94 there today! Crazy!

      • Yummy!!! That does sound good.

        Risotto is fun because it takes time and you have to be patient, and then when you are done and you taste it you know it was worth all the wait!

        We should cook together sometime.

        I can’t wait to see you soon in June!

  4. Hidy! I’m just perusing your blog and really enjoying it. This post was a while ago, so I don’t know how the O’Douls went, but I used to drink non-alcoholic beer and there was one called Kaliber (made by Guiness) that was actually really good. In my memory that is. It has been years.

    I am due with my first just a week and a half after you. I saw your due date and thought, wow, that’s just around the corner. Then I realized that mine is relatively the same time. Crazy! It’s all crazy.

    Sorry to read about the gall stones! Sounds horrible, but like it has prepared you mightily for the challenge of labor.

    Thanks for a great blog!

Leave a Reply

