to etsy or not to etsy?

i finished sylvie’s drawing this afternoon! i’m pretty happy with how it turned out. it’s really nice to have someone to draw things for.


(click for a larger image.)

and some detail shots:


so, i’m thinking about starting up a small etsy shop to sell some of my illustrations. my eventual goal is to be able to contribute to our household finances through freelance work alone. for a sampling of some of my other work, click HERE. my question for you, dear readers, is this: would you patronize my shop? please leave a comment with your honest answer. i’d love to hear what you have to say, especially if you have an etsy shop of your own! all advice is welcome. thanks!!



Click To Vote For Us @ Top Baby Blogs Directory!

40 responses to “to etsy or not to etsy?

  1. Love your drawing!! I’ve just recently found your blog through Top Baby Sites (love that site!) and have had fun reading your blog from the beginning.

    The first babe is SO MUCH FUN! I can’t wait to hear more about your journey.

    As for Etsy… I have a store and I love it. I started it with the understanding that I’m not opening it to live off of the money I make. I am thankful for th emoney that does come in from it and I love to create when I have the time to fill my store. I would highly recommend opening one up — you’d probably have lots of visitors (and buyers!) come through your blog, as well. You’re work is wonderful and I think you’d fine Etsy to be an easy way to get your work out there.

    Good luck — can’t wait to see the store! πŸ™‚

    ~kelly

    • Kelly,

      Thanks so much for all of the helpful advice and for stopping by! I agree completely with what you said about going into it with the understanding that I won’t be able to live off of this income. I just love to draw and would be doing it anyway. Why not make a little extra cash, right?

      By the way, I stopped by your blog and I love it. Your kids are beautiful!

      Best,
      Sara

  2. okay, sooooo funny you would write this because i was going to email you and ask if you’d be interested in doing one of these for Henry and if so, how much would you charge? this is seriously the coolest kid’s drawing i have seen in a long time and would love if you’d open an etsy shop (as i’m sure other’s would too!)

    ps. if you do, you can totally put your button on the front page of my blog…

    • Are you kidding?! I would LOVE to make an H for Henry! This drawing is 8″x10″ and took roughly 5 hours to do. For something like this I would probably charge in the neighborhood of $35, but I would love to give you a cheaper price (blog friend discount!). Especially since you kindly offered to host a hypothetical button for me! $25?

      Also, I know how to make a button, but am totally lost on the coding. Do you think you could help me with that? Thanks, Allie!

      • $25 sounds great! I can help you with the coding, I’m not so good at it myself but know someone who is. Let me know when you have some free time and if you are still interested! I really, really hope you start an etsy shop, just look how exited everyone got! you are very talented!

      • oh and voted for you!

    • Hey Allie,

      I am hoping to get the etsy shop up and running sometime tomorrow! I have the next 3 days off of work so I can definitely get started on Henry’s H right away! Are there any themes or colors that you have in mind?

  3. Poppy and Grammy

    YES!!!

  4. Marsha Cassle

    Yes – might have to have you make one for Evangeline! maybe Gabriel and Nathaniel too

  5. I need a T (girl), an S (boy), an S (girl) and a Z (boy). The two boys with lots of cars and trucks!
    I don’t know what the girls might like, but I bet you would. You are hired. What a great gift idea! xoxo

  6. Yes!
    That is so beautiful and full of stories!!! I especially love saturn and the mountains. Also love the owl.
    I definitely think you should open an etsy shop. You could even offer to frame them for an additional charge.

  7. I think this is awesome! I would love to have an “A” for aydan…covered with jungle animals!

    I think you should totally open the shop!

  8. I think your drawing is so great! It would make a cool wall decal too!

  9. omg…i LOVE the drawing so much!!! i also just started following your blog from the top baby blogs. πŸ™‚ are you seriously taking orders for these??? because my friend has two little girls, and i’d love to order 2 maybe within the next few months!!!!

    good luck w/all the baby stuff in the weeks to come! πŸ™‚

  10. When I saw that drawing I totally thought to myself, “She should sell those on Etsy. I would totally buy one!” So yes!! I think you definitely should. Especially after all these great comments!

  11. Sara,

    This is too cute. The second I saw it I was wondering where I could get one. I’d LOVE to get an M for my little boy on the way. If you are serious about doing this, I’d be willing to make an order this week.

    • Erin,

      I would love to make an M for you! My plan is to get the Etsy shop up and running by the end of the day tomorrow. In the meantime, you can contact me at sarakhinkle@gmail.com with your specifications on theme and color. Thanks so much!

      -Sara

  12. I love your blog! I’m in the process of looking for art for our babies room and I would absolutely buy something from you!

  13. Okay I’ve never commented before, I just check back on your blog every once in a while and catch up on things- I’m not the commenting type, I’m sorry!

    But, before I got to the bit about how you were thinking of opening an Etsy shop I was already thinking “She should open an Etsy shop!!!!”

    LOL so I guess that tells you I’m a huge fan of you opening a shop- I don’t know that I would buy anything for myself at the moment but I would definitely buy something like that for a shower present or something! So cute, I love it! And I would definitely want one if we had a bebe of our own for her/his nursery!

    • Katie,

      Thanks for commenting and reading! I want to get the Etsy shop up and running tomorrow. I will be putting a lot of different sorts of drawings in there. Not everything is as child-like as this drawing. Check back tomorrow for a link and please keep me in mind. Thanks so much!

      -Sara

  14. I forgot to say that you should totally do Etsy. I love Etsy, and I think you’d do great there!

  15. I think it’s a great idea! I’m 34 weeks pregnant and am doing the same thing since I will be home for a year or two while she is still little too…Not only do we need the extra money, but I need to feel useful in a more personal way and giving up all financial duties to my husband makes me feel kind of like a child too..maybe since I’v been working all my life and feel proud when I can contribute too. I have an etsy store and have been making as much stuff as I can before she gets here. I think your illustrations are awesome and you could do so much with them! You should buy a gocco home silk screener and you could print cards, onesies, posters, and soooo much more! If you made a whole alphabet I could see it getting really popular..So anyway, I just totally had a conversation with myself..Good luck and I think it’s a great idea! Love your blog, I’v been reading it throughout my pregnancy and I think your great!

    • Thank you so much, Julia! I’m in the same boat as you. I actually handed in my two weeks notice at work today to be a SAHM. I’m a little nervous about it, but really happy to give our baby and my artwork my undivided attention! I completely understand what you mean about needing to feel useful. I am also a prideful person who has worked pretty steadily since my high school days. I like being able to contribute each week and will be sad to lose that. I’m hoping this Etsy shop will give me a sense of accomplishment, even if I don’t sell much. I would love a link to your shop!

      Good luck with the remainder of your pregnancy. Thank you so much for stopping by and commenting with your advice!

  16. Hello. I have been following your blog for a couple months now and I love it – thank you for keeping me entertained. I think you should open an etsy shop – you are very talented my dear. If you do end up doing an etsy shop let me know b/c I love the S you did for your little Sylvia & would have to commission you once the hubby and I finally get prego.

    • Hi there! You’re welcome for the entertainment. πŸ™‚
      I’ve had such a positive response that my plan is to have an etsy shop up and running sometime tomorrow. Please do keep me in mind for when you have a little one of your own. I would love to create something for you!
      Thank you for stopping by!

  17. Saucer! This is awesome! I would love love love to get one for Miss Tessa and Mr. Sam. We could use them as a jumping off point in their new rooms! Congratulations on coming up with your own business! Now if I could only get you to expand in to the world of corporate logos. Baby steps, right? πŸ™‚ xoxo

    • My mom is one step ahead of you! She already put in an order for each of the grandkids! Any particular themes or colors you would like? I know Sammy would like trucks and cars. Any ideas for Miss Tess? I know she loves wild animals. Let me know!

  18. I knew it! Once you got your work out there, the response would be great!

    • Thanks, Mama! Have you thought of anymore etsy names? I was thinking something with the word Gray in it, to honor the baby that started it all.

  19. i love this letter s keep up the great work all the best for your etsy shop

Leave a Reply

