apartment tour.

yesterday i was tagged by allie to share some of my favorite things about our little abode. it’s about time i gave a tour of our apartment!

these are a few of my favorite things:

auggie the doggie!


our books, especially my small collection of cookbooks.


our patchwork chair, complete with my favorite ikea pillow.


our giant yellow four-poster bed, always in a perpetual state of unmade-ness.


the kitchen, also known as my favorite room.


our little herb garden on the deck.


sylvia’s mobile above her crib. we’re still working on the rest of the drawings for it!


the pink parrot, which hangs over the other end of her crib. this belonged to me when i was little.


lastly, the view from our living room windows. i spend a lot of time looking out this window, at the trees, and daydreaming about sylvie.

there you have it! our tiny, happy, cozy apartment. sometimes i wish we had more room. i often wish we could move this apartment to another place. that said, at the end of the day this little one-bedroom is my sanctuary. this is my first home with my husband, the place where sylvie was made, and where we will bring her home. i will miss this place when we move next year.

12 responses to “apartment tour.

  1. very cute- and i LOVE the patchwork chair!

    – e

    • thanks! i LOVE that chair, too. it’s so comfortable and i saved up for a while for it (and waited patiently for it to go on sale).

  2. I remember more about our (your dad’s and my) first apt than the last house I lived in.

    • I remember more about the house on Three Ponds than the townhouse. I think we hold onto more from emotionally significant places.

  3. Adorable. I love the chair and your bed, unmade or not. 🙂

    • You know, I never really did understand the concept of making the bed. Nobody sees our bed except us and it gets unmade again every single night. I only make it before our parents come into town and once a week when I wash and change the sheets.

  4. I LOVE it all so much! Your book collection should be BFFs with our book collection!

    • Hahaha. That’s not even half of our books! We have 4 very full bookshelves and about 5 waist-high piles under a table in our living room. We are total book nerds, but I wouldn’t have it any other way.

  5. love your ikea pillow! We live in a one bedroom too – we signed the lease again 2 weeks before we found out about our daughter coming…

    it is nice to have little to clean, and to have her so close when you sleep. We are moving soon and I will really miss her when she has her own room.

    • we renewed our lease shortly before we found out, too. i’m glad we did it though. the leasing office was offering a rent credit so it ended up being worth it!

  6. what a pretty little home! right now, my fiance and i are in the process of moving out of our own little one bedroom, the first place we called home together… i’m sad about it, but excited for whatever the future holds.

    ps, that bed is amazing! a four-poster bed is totally on my ideal furniture wish list. 😉

    • Thank you! The bed is from Ikea a few years ago. I don’t know if they still make it, but it’s part of the Hemnes line. I will love this bed until it starts to fall apart. The husband is petitioning to paint it a different color after our next move, but I LOVE the bright, cheery yellow.
      Eventually I want to make curtains that go all the way around, like a little fabric cave.

Leave a Reply

