loss.

my dear, sweet husband’s grandmother passed away today. words cannot properly express how deeply this loss is felt in our home. she was a wonderfully kind and generous woman who was beloved and respected by her husband of 60 years, 5 children and their spouses, 17 grandchildren, and 4 great grandchildren. i have never seen a person so revered by those who were blessed enough to know her. she will be greatly missed.

the funeral will be sometime this weekend in texas. we’re buying travis a ticket as soon as we know the details of the arrangements. i wish so badly that i could travel with him. it kills me that i can’t be there for him during this very difficult time. luckily, he is much braver than i and i know he will be okay. if our positions were switched i don’t know what i would do without him next to me. i’m terrified for him to even leave me now, still 5 weeks from my due date. please stay in there, sylvie. i don’t know if i can do it alone, without your daddy.

if you are so inclined, please send your thoughts and prayers out to travis and his family. losing a family matriarch is an extremely difficult thing. i’ve witnessed it twice in my own family when my great great aunt verna died and shortly thereafter when my nana (sylvie’s namesake) passed. a family is never quite the same afterwards, but travis’ family (immediate and extended) are some of the strongest, most loving people i’ve ever had the privilege to know. they will get through this, and i’m so glad he can be there with them this weekend. i love my husband and seeing him in this kind of pain is difficult, to say the least. i take great comfort in the fact that he will soon be surrounded by a close group of people who feel exactly as he does. i know they will take exceptional care of him in my absence.

to the douthit clan, please know that i am thinking about each and every one of you during this trying time.

11 responses to “loss.

  1. you, Travis and your family our in my thoughts and prayers

  2. ๐Ÿ˜ฆ Thinking about you guys, this is incredibly sad. I am so sorry…Garrison and I are both sending good thoughts and prayers your way.

  3. So very sorry. We’re praying for peace and safe travels.

  4. So very sorry, Travis and Sara. Weโ€™re praying for peace and safe travels. I never had to chance to meet Doris, but always heard wonderful things about her. She was obviously a very special and loved woman.

    • I never really got to know her. By the time I came into the picture her Alzheimer’s was pretty progressed. The first time I met her, she was still fairly lucid, but not completely. I wish I had gotten to know her pre-illness. Travis had such a fierce love and respect for her. I know she must have been wonderful. Thank you for the prayers.

  5. So sorry for your loss! You and Travis’ family are in my thoughts and prayers.

  6. i’m sorry for your loss. sending my thoughts your way. and the baby in my belly is sending sylvie a telepathic message to stay in there just a little bit longer. ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

