feeling funny.

i woke up at 6 o’clock this morning feeling a bit strange. travis and i got some breakfast and, after talking to my mom, decided to call my midwife’s office to see if we could move our 2:45 appointment up. i spoke to a very nice nurse at the office who told me to come in as soon as possible for a labor check. we were at the office 20 minutes later. the midwife came in to do another internal. it looks like my instincts were right. i am currently sitting tight at 80% effaced and 4 centimeters dilated. little sylvie is holding tight at 0 station.

i have been having some painful contractions since yesterday afternoon, but nothing strong or at regular intervals. my midwife gave me two options. 1. if i was uncomfortable enough she could break my water and get things started. 2. i could go home and wait it out for what could be another day or another week.

i chose door #2. at only 36 weeks and 2 days there is no need to do anything other than let nature take its course. i’m at home now resting up, carb loading, staying hydrated, and finishing up my last pre-baby illustration commission. my plan is to continue to take it easy and try to nap later in case sylvie decides tonight’s the night. between you and me, i think we’ll make the move into active labor sometime in the next 24-48 hours. i’m feeling too funny today to think that i’ll go another week.

stay tuned! i’ll post again if things pick up later.

17 responses to “feeling funny.

  1. OH MY GOODNESS!! So excited for you! I go fast, but I was at a 4 when I went to the hospital with Evangeline and she was born about 4 hours later! (My water had already broken.) Can’t wait to hear all of this unfolds!

    • thanks alisha! we’re excited too, but trying not to get too worked up. plenty of people walk around this way for a week or more. we’ll keep everyone posted!

  2. Hold on , I’m coming!

  3. Oh my!! Soooo exciting!! Keep strong and stay relaxed.

    P.S. Scarlett had a healthy baby boy in the wee hours of the night.

  4. yay! getting excited for you

  5. Soooo jealous! I’m 40 1/2 weeks, just got back from my Dr. and I am nowhere, zilch, zada, hardly effaced and not dilated at all…So I’m being induced Sunday night at midnight..Oi vay! I really wanted to feel my body go through changing and preparing for birth, but you don’t always get what you want..hahaha…So excited for you and it’s happening for a reason and as we know we’re not steering this ship anymore..Good luck and I know everything will be fine with you and Sylvie! I can’t wait to hear how it goes and to read about her birth! So exciting..It is unreal to think this time next week we could be mothers! Woah, I just blew my mind!

  6. wow!!! exciting stuff!! best of luck to you the next few days!

  7. I recently stumbled upon your blog and have been enjoying the final countdown of your babe. I longingly remember that final week before my first kiddo entered the world.

    I’m excited for you and anxious to read all about it… there’s nothing better than birth stories!

  8. Oh wow that is amazing!
    I think its pretty cool that you seem to have such an intuition about these things.
    How awesome are mothers!

  9. How exciting! 🙂 Can’t wait to see Sylvie- good luck to you!

Leave a Reply

