update.

i’m in labor! my water broke early this morning, just after 2 o’clock. i called my midwife to let her know and fell back asleep until a little after 8. i had a few minor contractions throughout the night, but nothing regular or strong. this same pattern continued throughout the morning and early afternoon despite walking, bouncing, and using the breast pump to stimulate oxytocin release.

after 12 hours of nothing, i called the midwife again. she told me to head to the hospital. shortly after arriving, she checked my cervix again. i was still 4 centimeters dilated, but my effacement was complete at 100%. she suggested starting a low and slow pitocin drip to see if it would help jump start contractions. i have been contracting regularly since then, but nothing too painful.

i’m still determined to do this without an epidural. my midwife was very reassuring and said that she’s seen it done many times. apparently, the fact that i had made a fair amount of progress unassisted bodes well for getting through the pitocin unmedicated.

that’s where we are now. i’m hooked up to a portable monitor so i can change position at will, and i have my birthing ball ready to go. we’re well past the point of no return! we’re having this baby tonight one way or another. please keep us in your thoughts. the next time i make a post i’ll be a mother.

13 responses to “update.

  1. YEA!!!!!!!!! Sending peacful vibes your way 🙂 SO excited.

    p.s. I read your blog everyday and I LOVE it

  2. Keep up the good work, mama! You and Sylvie are in my thoughts and prayers. I will be waiting for my phone call, hopefully it’ll be soon! I can’t wait to meet my new niece! I will talk to you later,sis. I love you!

    Rachel

  3. How exciting! I’ve been reading for a while but haven’t commented before, but I wanted to say thank you for sharing your journey! Good luck with the rest of your labor, and congratulations!

  4. ahhh i’ve been on baby watch with a few blogs, and yours was one of them!! so excited for you guys 🙂

  5. wow so exciting.

    I hope you make it without the epidural. I’m sure you can do it!!

  6. Go Sylvie, go! LET’S DO THIS!

  7. WOW!!!! so exciting!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! can’t wait to see little sylvie!

  8. So excited for you and Travis! sending peaceful, relaxing thoughts your way! Congrats Mama!

  9. YAY SARA!!!!
    I love you! congrats and I can’t wait to hear all about your beautiful baby girl!
    XOXOXOXO

  10. OMG!!! sending you good vibes today. I cant wait to hear about the birth and to see pictures of your little cutie!!!!!!

  11. My computer was taking forever to load this and I got so mad, haha. I am so excited for you guys! You’re probably a new mom as you read this, congratulations! Isn’t it the best feeling ever?

  12. now i’m waiting for the NEXT update! 😀

  13. How exciting!!!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

