one year ago.

december 22, 2009.

the day we found out about sylvie. our early christmas present. the above photo shows me in awe, still holding the positive test. i felt ill for the rest of the day. i had to leave halfway through my shift at the bookstore. i just could not concentrate.

i called my mother first.
“are you busy right now?”
“no…”
“what would you think if i said i was pregnant?”

a moment of silence followed. i was just as surprised as you were, mom. surprised is an understatement. i full-on freaked out for 24 hours. i wondered how we could afford her. how could we make it all work? in a one bedroom apartment? on two small salaries? the answer was shockingly simple: we would make it work because there is no other option then to do so. once i drilled that into my brain, i was able to concentrate on names, cribs, and colors.

i fell in love with her quickly and completely. love is an understatement. in the year since that day she has occupied my every thought, breath, waking moment, and dream. she was the missing piece in the puzzle of our lives. we just didn’t know it until that day. she is the love of my life and the funniest person i know. she is sylvie. my daughter. my sweet baby girl.

4 responses to “one year ago.

  1. I remember every detail of finding out i was pregnant! πŸ™‚ we were trying, so while it wasn’t such a shock, I was shocked that it’s didn’t take long (second time) and wondered if it was for real

  2. I know exactly what you mean.
    It must be hard to believe that was a year ago, huh?

  3. Beautifully said! My daughter was a very pleasant surprise even though I was hoping to have a baby for 13 years prior to finding out I was pregnant. After she was born, I still couldn’t believe she was real.

    It took several months before it really hit me that I was a mom. She’s now a toddler and as much as I love this time in her life, I wish I took advantage of the little time I had back when she wasn’t as mobile. πŸ˜‰

  4. Wow- its been a year? Incredible.

Leave a Reply

